Coconut flour pancakes.

These are absolutely one of our favourite breakfast treats. I first found the recipe online by the Helmsley sisters and tried it straight away. I do tweak the original recipe to suit what we fancy on any given day so I’ll add the original recipe below and then give you the tweaks we’ve tried so far too.

Base Recipe

2 eggs

2 tablespoons of coconut oil, melted

Upto 4 tablespoons of warm water

1.5 tablespoons maple syrup (I also use agave syrup or honey)

A tiny pinch of salt

2 tablespoons of coconut flour

1/4 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda

1/2-1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I use 1/2 a teaspoon)

Now the fun part

The original recipe called for blueberries and I found I would use about 25-30.

We enjoy adding dark chocolate chips for an extra treat or any other berries if we’re aiming for a healthier breakfast.

Method

  • Prepare any berries you may be using. Blueberries just need a wash but anything bigger will need chopped a little if you want to bake into the pancake.
  • Melt the coconut oil and allow to cool slightly.
  • Beat the eggs, syrup, vanilla and salt in a mixing bowl until light and fluffy.
  • Sift in the coconut flour and bicarbonate of soda and mix in the melted coconut oil to make a batter.
  • I let the batter sit for a minute or two now so the flour can soak up the liquid. The batter generally thickens up quite abit.
  • Add the water a tablespoon at a time until your batter is the right consistency. (You want it to be thin enough to pour but thick enough to hold its shape in the pan without spreading too much.)
  • I use the same pan to cook the pancakes as I use to melt the coconut oil so at this stage I redistribute any of the oil left in the pan and heat the pan over a medium heat.
  • Add 2 tablespoons or a quarter cup of batter to the pan and top with about 5 blueberries or a teaspoon of chocolate chips. (Or any other topping of choice). You can also cook these plain and they’re delicious like that too.
  • After 2 minutes check if you can loosen the pancake easily and flip to cook on the other side for a further 1 minute. (It may need an extra minute if it’s particularly large or thick.)
  • Serve!

I like to serve these with extra berries and a little honey drizzled on top when I cook with blueberries. If I cook these with chocolate chips I serve with agave or maple syrup. If I cook them plain I serve with berries and KoKo dairy free natural yogurt.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Coconut flour pancakes.

Leave a Reply

